ABC Swim School

where learning to swim is as easy as ABC

07802 631 571

Our Classes

Level 1 is geared towards developing water confidence and basic movement skills in the early years. Non-swimmers are introduced to water through fun and games using arm bands and floats to develop confidence.

We follow stages 1 - 7 of the ASA (LTSP) Learn to Swim Pathway, followed by stages 8 - 10 for multi aquatic disciplines.  Every pupil is assessed on enrolment to ensure everyone starts at the right level for learning.  We maintain small classes so that we can give each pupil our full attention and the opportunity to learn at their own pace. We also offer pre-school swimming for children from 9 months, lessons are based on the ASA Foundation level of the LTSP.

During this stage, children develop quality stroke techniques up to 100 metres incorporating the skills they have learned, and combine them to develop a linked routine. They also successfully complete an obstacle course that combines a variety of skills accomplished through stages 1-7.

Once the swimmer has developed the core range of skills required to be confident, competent and safe in the water through stages 1-7, he or she can then take part in different aquatic disciplines through stages 8-10.

Stages 8, 9 and 10 of the NPTS are discipline specific and have synergy with the grass roots programmes developed by the disciplines to support the individual sports. These disciplines enable swimmers to have Fun and try the following aquatic sports: competitive swimming, synchronized swimming (AquaFUN), Diving (Flip N Fun), Water Polo (Mini Polo) and Rookie Lifeguard.  These may lead swimmers to joining competitive clubs or having fun in the water for a healthy lifestyle.

Swimmers will also have the opportunity to complete Bronze, Silver, Gold and Honours Challenge awards and also Personal survival awards. Click here for more information about Synchronized swimming classes.

For LTSP Outcome Competitive Swimming Stages 8,9 & 10 Click Here

Stage 7
Information culled from the  ASA website
Stages 8 - 10
Stage 1
Stage 2

Pupils are taught to develop safe entry into the water, basic floating, swimming on their front and back and other skills.  Swimmers are also allowed floats and arm bands at this stage.  

Stage  3

A progression of the skills developed in level 2 to include submersion, travelling up to 10 metres on their front and back, body rotation skills and development of water safety knowledge. Pupils are encouraged to swim without aids.

Stage 4

This stage aids the learner in developing the understanding of buoyancy through a range of skills and refining kicking techniques for all strokes. The swimmer also has to swim 10 metres to a standard directed by the ASA.

Stage 5

During this stage swimmers develop ‘watermanship’ through sculling and treading water skills and complete body rotation. They also perform all strokes for a distance of 10 metres to a standard provided by the ASA within the NPTS resources.

Stage 6

Developing effective swimming skills - including coordinated breathing - across all strokes is the focus of this stage. Learners have to swim a distance of 25 metres using a stroke of the swimmer’s choice. Children also learn about aspects of water safety and about preparing properly for exercise.

For Details of LTSP Outcome Stages 1 - 7  Click here